What I realized this morning……

I’m on a trip to Puebla Mexico with my husband and daughter to his families Family Reunion. This is the 39th year they have celebrated this event. 

This morning I woke up at my normal time, my internal clock is set for 6am. I decided to walk to the oxo, which is like a 7-11 in the USA, bought a coffee and walked back. The hotel we are staying a is completely ours for the weekend no one but family is here. As I am sitting here, I began to realize what is important in life and how much the small things matter.

Some of the family is uber rich and some are dirt poor, but last night at the welcome dinner I realized it didn’t matter to them. Their one goal was to be together. There was none of the cliques that you see when most families get together, everyone was intermingling and catching up. Everyone was truly happy to see each other.

Something one of the aunts said stuck with me, she said “All that is important in life is right here and in the end I will treasure these memories of us being together.

What a wise woman. 

Leave a Reply

